Choosing “Balance”

Now that we’re a few months into 2017, it’s safe to reflect back on 2016 with the eyes of an outsider and really be critical of how the year went. Are you happy with how you spent 2016? Do you feel content? Or do you wish you could go back and tell yourself to get your crap together and accomplish more? It’s okay if you have regrets…. it’s NOT okay to spend 2017 doing the same things so when you look back this time next year, those same regrets are still weighing you down. It’s time for some tough love here my friends. We may still have 10 months left of this year, but 2 have already slipped through our fingers while we complained about the snow and wished for summer.

I recently was introduced to the concept of picking a “word of the year”. This practice encourages you to pick a word that resonates with your goals, ambitions, and hopes for the year ahead. It is used to help guide you as you navigate through the next 365 days. This is my first year doing this, so it’s going to be as much of an experiment for me as it is for you.


Here’s what I was told as advice to picking my word:

  • Think about how you want to feel.
  • Use your intuition.. Does a certain word come to mind immediately? That might be it.
  • Choose a word that can be applied to all areas of your life.
  • It can be ANYTHING. If it feels right, it is.

 

I entered this year wanting to feel refreshed and rejuvenated…but really just felt tired. The past few years have drained me in every conceivable way. I moved out on my own for the first time. I lost two jobs because of my school schedule. My part-time night graduate program turned out to be a full time job on its own. My boyfriend and I worked opposite schedules and only saw each other to sleep. We struggled financially. I lost loved ones, both to distance and death. My dog broke his leg and the subsequent surgeries to save his leg put us in debt. It was just a lot, all the time. My retrospective word for 2015 is “rough”. The same goes for 2016. I don’t want my 2017 to be defined in the same way. Actually, I freaking REFUSE to let that happen.

I’d be willing to bet that you can guess what my word for 2017 is….

a

Every decision and action that I take this year is going to be in an effort to find balance in my life. Without balance, the plates that I have spinning are going to continue to wobble until they eventually crash down around me. As someone who’s spent some time with a glue gun in the past, trust me that it’s much harder to glue back the broken pieces and get them spinning again than it is to keep them up in the air.

So in 2017 I’m going to find balance. I’ve already made a few changes to find it. School is not my primary occupation anymore, because it shouldn’t be all consuming. I’m doing more of what I love each day. I’m practicing self-care.  I’m looking for balance in my body.  I’m reading for the benefit of my personal growth. I’m trying.

So far, the plates are still wobbling. But I’m feeling much more steady on my feet as I watch them spin.

What’s your word for 2017? I’d love to hear in the comments!

signature_89r348bs8n633ap6zg

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Choosing “Balance”

  1. victoriatracy says:

    i have chosen determination. determination to continue with being the best i can inside and out. determination not to let others downers in gulf me to their level. determination to get more organized in my home. determination to get my financial goals closer . determination seems to be a live lesson i am still fighting to bring into all aspects of my life in 2017. I would like to think i am off to a good start accomplishing what I hope is a great year brining me closer to my love ones and enjoying every minute every day every month every breath ~mom~

    Like

  2. Ethan Sloan-Dennison says:

    Seen your comment on the community pool, this is a great wee blog full of interesting content. It’s also easy to navigate and the layout is very easy on the eyes. What I will recommend though is communicating on the daily posts often as it brings a lot of people to your site.

    Like

  3. Good post! My word is TRY. Try something new. Jump out of your comfort zone. Personally, I’m TRYing to make life changes and move past fears and old regrets. Try…because if you don’t make it this time you can always try again…and again…and again.

    Like

Leave a comment